Classification of Kernels (IEL4)

Kernels are classified based on the following criteria:

  1. Separable/Degenerate: K(s,t) = \sum a_i(s)b_i(t)
  2. Symmetric or Hermitian: K(s,t) = K^*(t,s), where * denotes the conjugate
  3. Convolution Type: K(s,t) = K(s-t)

Note that a kernel may be of two types at the same time.

For example, K(s,t)=s-t is of both separable and of convolution type. It is not symmetric as K(t,s)\ne K(s,t). You will find more examples in the quiz (link).


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.